How Vodafone and Airtel spoiled NewYear !

Thumbs down

This is an article born out of frustration of a mobile phone user from India !

sms will be charged at regular rates on 31st dec and 1st Jan …….

Are you familiar with some sms of this kind ? then , hello ! i am one among you who is irritated by CSPs !!

Vodafone (earlier Hutch) and Airtel are two major Cellphone Service Providers (CSP) in India and they have gone to a very low level of charging for sms on festive days , irrespective of whether you have activated a booster/rate cutter . Vodafone seemed to have been the initiator of this ugly idea and Airtel followed it late .

I feel that my rights have been exploited to some extent ! Let me explain :

If you activate  a sms booster pack to cut down sms charges , then you can send free sms’ for 30 days(as guarenteed by CSPs ) ! but , if i am denied of free sms on any one day in between  (ie. during  festivals), then my sms booster is valid only for 29 days and what if it is  December , when i am charged for sms on 25th Dec and 31st Dec ???You lose 2 days from those guaranteed !!

Ok leave out the “my rights ” part ! atleast basic common sense  must tell the CSP that  festivals are the most important occasions where their customers would expect to send free sms to their friends and family !

I received my all my new year wishes on 30th Dec, lol . My mobile phone inbox was flooded with wishes two days before New Year, all with an excuse that they wont be able to wish me on first day of the year and also on the last day of this year !

Actually i am astonished by these CSPs  attitude of trying  to make  money out of everything ! The good old saying “Customer is God ! ” is no more , its now ” Hey customer ! you do what we say !

Thumbs down to you Vodafone and Airtel !! 😦

If you feel that any part of this post contains  incorrect/incomplete  information  , please do correct me , I wont charge you for that 😉

Additional Readings :

Rate

3 comments on “How Vodafone and Airtel spoiled NewYear !

  1. I experienced a similar problem. When I bought my iPhone, I first checked with “Got Reception?” (Gotreception.com) It’s a great resource for finding out where reception problems are most likely to occur BEFORE you lock yourself with a specific carrier.

  2. Pingback: Users satisfied with Virgin mobile « Openbook

  3. Pingback: Follow the leader: Cellphone revolution in India « Openbook

Leave a Reply

