Kdenlive: The video editor of my choice

I just grew interested in uploading my videos to Facebook and Youtube. So I set searching for video editors that I wanted to rip a particular portion of my video and convert it into an uploadable form. Believe me, I spent a day to finally settle down with a good editor. I started out with the Windows platform(Win7). First, I chose the traditional Windows Movie Maker. It didnt work out. My .avi  video had some encoding error so Movie Maker did not recognise it. Then I tried Free Video Dub, which had a very simple interface, but a lot of patience was needed to edit videos. It crashed often in my Windows 7. I don’t know whether it was a compatibility error. Turning on the compatibility option(right click on exe–>properties–>compatibility tab) did not work either. Googling around I found this Pinnacle Studio. It seems to be a famous editor out there, but then it was large in size, took some time to load and crashed often. So it was time to say goodbye to Windows and switch to Ubuntu:) But the pastures werent much greener there initially. I chose the editor that was the choice of many: Pitivi. It is a neat app for Linux, but I found it difficult to edit the video strip on the timeline. Phew! I was almost about to quit, when I heard about Lives and Kdenlive from the Ubuntu community forums. I installed them straight from the command line without any hassle. Lives interface was not user friendly, so I will quit talking about that. Finally, I settled down with Kdenlive. It is a very user friendly app for Ubuntu. It looked similar to Windows Movie Maker, but was more easy especially the timeline editing. I was able to finish my task in 30minutes. I rendered my project as  a .avi video. The size of the resulting video turned out to be 814+ MB, a size that would take long to get uploaded in Facebook, considering my 512kbps Internet. So I decided to convert it into a good quality flv video. First, I tried WinFF, based on FFMPEG. The resulting flv video was 14+ MB in size but had no audio. So I took recourse to Windows. Koyote Free Flv converter did the job neat and at last I successfully uploaded <this> video. so next time you sit down on a video editing project, let Kdenlive be your first choice 🙂

Additional:

You may also be interested in this video on LaTex 

Leave a Reply

